Feedback / Suggestions

About Us

The Director General and Inspector General of Police is the head of the police department in the state. Under him there are Additional Directors General of Police. Each of the Additional Directors General of Police is in charge of a particular function like Law and Order, Crime and Technical Services, Administration, Intelligence, Karnataka State Reserve Police, Recruitment and Training, Transport, Tele-communication and Modernization and Director of Civil Rights Enforcement. There are 5 Commissionarates. The Commissioner, Bangalore City, is of the rank of Additional Director General of Police, whereas Commissioners Hubli-Dharwar and Mysore City are of the rank of Inspector General of Police and Commissioners of Mangalore and Belagavi are of the rank of Deputy Inspector General of Police.  Below the Additional Directors General of Police, there are Inspectors General of Police.  Six Inspectors General of Police are in charge of Ranges, besides a number of Inspectors General of Police are in charge of specific functions.  Each Range comprises 3-6 districts. Each district is headed by an officer of the rank of Superintendent of Police.

Last Updated: 19-10-2020 11:05 AM Updated By: Admin

Disclaimer :

Please note that this page also provides links to the websites / web pages of Govt. Ministries/Departments/Organisations.The content of these websites are owned by the respective organisations and they may be contacted for any further information or suggestion

Website Policies

  • Copyright Policy
  • Hyperlinking Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Privacy Policy
  • Help
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Guidelines


  • Last Updated​ :
  • Visitors Counter :
  • Version :
Designed, Developed and Hosted by: Center for e-Governance - Web Portal, Government of Karnataka © 2024, All Rights Reserved.

Best viewed in Chrome v-87.0.4280.141, Microsoft Edge v-87.0.664.75, Firefox -v-83.0 Browsers. Resolution : 1280x800 to 1920x1080